reading thread

General discussion.
kob
CyberDemon
Consoles: PS3 - PC

reading thread

Post by kob » Thu Mar 10, 2016 20:46

anyone reading these days? I had a huge fallout with books years ago and hadn't read anything since Ender's Game in high school, but my friend got me stoked on reading again and I'm glad I did. forgot how much I loved getting sucked into a good novel.

currently reading the first book in the Gentleman Bastards series, a fantasy story about a group of thieves who get caught up in a big scheme with (who I assume to be) the series' main villain. they steal through deception and trickery rather than, say, breaking into a noble's house to steal a rare gem or something. initially I thought that would make for a worse book, but it actually works really well because the characters and dialogue are so great. I'm not very good with literature terms, but I've heard tragicomedy thrown around regarding this series, which seems pretty accurate. it has a lot of clever and fun humor while still being serious. it took a while for it to really grab me, but now I can't put it down.

also if anyone has any book recommendations fire away. I'm already looking at what to read next. preferably in the sci-fi or fantasy genre.

Lord Rameon
Lost Soul
Consoles: Xbox 360, Xbox 1, Wii

Re: reading thread

Post by Lord Rameon » Sat Mar 12, 2016 18:55

The Count of Monte Cristo might be up your alley if you enjoy deception and trickery

As far as sci-fi goes, the first three Halo novels I couldn't put down as a kid lol

kob
CyberDemon

Post by kob » Sat Mar 12, 2016 22:56

haha sorry Halo isn't really what i'm looking for. The Count of Monte Cristo seems pretty cool, but holy shit it's 1300 pages. is it really worth it?

youdiedtooeasily
Baron of Hell
Consoles: PC, PS3

Post by youdiedtooeasily » Sun Mar 13, 2016 00:34

don't read much anymore tbh. although, I do read screenplays of films I like just to see how they looked on paper/what got changed pretty frequently.