Will your PC run Oblivion? #2

For discussing Oblivion.
User avatar
Megaman
Imp
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 17:18
Location: London

...

Post by Megaman » Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:03

Here's My Specs
Fujitsuu Siemens Scaleo P (Windows XP)
AMD Athlon 64 X2
2.01 GHz
2GB Ram
2GB Graphics Card
200 GB Memory
ATI Radeon X1300 Graphics Card

The first time I played Oblivion in May, my computer didn't take it that well. I think it was because it was the first time I played a really powerful game since I brought the computer in October

Now that I play it frequently (nearly everyday) it's working perfectly, I can enable distand lands as well as set the viewing distance for the objects to maximum. But it tends to slow down a bit when I enable HDR lighting, but not by too much though. I tend not to have it enabled anyway. Looks much better though but I just want the game to work smoothly.

User avatar
½Man ½Dremora
Zombie Monkey
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 14:16
Location: Finland

Re: ...

Post by ½Man ½Dremora » Wed Jun 06, 2007 09:39

Megaman wrote:Here's My Specs
Fujitsuu Siemens Scaleo P (Windows XP)
AMD Athlon 64 X2
2.01 GHz
2GB Ram
2GB Graphics Card
200 GB Memory
ATI Radeon X1300 Graphics Card

The first time I played Oblivion in May, my computer didn't take it that well. I think it was because it was the first time I played a really powerful game since I brought the computer in October

Now that I play it frequently (nearly everyday) it's working perfectly, I can enable distand lands as well as set the viewing distance for the objects to maximum. But it tends to slow down a bit when I enable HDR lighting, but not by too much though. I tend not to have it enabled anyway. Looks much better though but I just want the game to work smoothly.
Do you really have a 2 GB graphics card. I thought 512 mb was the highest. Do you have more than one or...

User avatar
samuelmonaghan_aussie
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 6102
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 09:51
Location: Whyalla bru
Contact:

Post by samuelmonaghan_aussie » Wed Jun 06, 2007 09:41

i thought 1gb was the highest

i got a 712mb or something
Mr Smith wrote:Can we still say cunt even if Chill is still here?

Wester547
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 7358
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 23:47
Location: USA.

Re: ...

Post by Wester547 » Wed Jun 06, 2007 19:15

Megaman wrote:Here's My Specs
Fujitsuu Siemens Scaleo P (Windows XP)
AMD Athlon 64 X2
2.01 GHz
2GB Ram
2GB Graphics Card
200 GB Memory
ATI Radeon X1300 Graphics Card

The first time I played Oblivion in May, my computer didn't take it that well. I think it was because it was the first time I played a really powerful game since I brought the computer in October

Now that I play it frequently (nearly everyday) it's working perfectly, I can enable distand lands as well as set the viewing distance for the objects to maximum. But it tends to slow down a bit when I enable HDR lighting, but not by too much though. I tend not to have it enabled anyway. Looks much better though but I just want the game to work smoothly.
The Radeon X1300 series only comes in 256-512MB DDR 2 VRAM configurations to my recollection, but considering it only has 105-157 million transistors and 4-12 pixel rendering pipelines, as well as only 4.0GB/s-12.8GB/s of memory bandwidth and 4 ROPs (plus, only a 128-bits wide memory interface pipeline) amongst other lower-specs, it's really not a card to run Oblivion with everything and anything enabled.

The FP16 texture filtering/blending HDR (obviously SM3.0) renderer path Oblivion follows is something I wouldn't admonish turning off because Oblivion loses far too much of its appeasing, commanding feel without it (visually, as the other cheap pseudo-post processing bloom shader really doesn't do it for me), to me, though if you need the performance I'd apprise lowering the resolution, turning down FSAA/AF and lowering down grass distance (major bottleneck and quite drudging with HDR enabled simultaneously) amongst other things of the like. Though, if it runs fine, don't mind this post.

Though, if you have around $200 and a PSU that would be superfluous for a better card, I'd go for ATi's 512MB G-DDR 3 Radeon X1950 Pro, or, if you're hell-bent on Shader Model 4.0 (DirectX 10) support, 256MB G-DDR 3 GeForce 8600 GTS.... though the latter is a bit too slow (if you have the incentive to spend a bit more dosh, nVidia's 320MB G-DDR 3-640MB G-DDR 3 GeForce 8800 GTS's superiority is largely limpid, and that's certainly ready for the next-generation of DirectX 10 games).

Well, that's my say on the matter.

User avatar
samuelmonaghan_aussie
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 6102
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 09:51
Location: Whyalla bru
Contact:

Post by samuelmonaghan_aussie » Thu Jun 07, 2007 06:54

i have no idea what that meant
Mr Smith wrote:Can we still say cunt even if Chill is still here?

User avatar
OBrocks
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 8429
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 00:27

Post by OBrocks » Fri Jun 08, 2007 00:37

zomg wester posted
Image
samuelmonaghan_aussie wrote:damn right im fascinated about gay sex
Gordon Frohman wrote:I, Gordon Frohman, am racist.

User avatar
Megaman
Imp
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 17:18
Location: London

Post by Megaman » Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:30

:? Getting real technical there Wester547 :? . I just copied down the specs for the label on the box the PC came from. Maybe I misread it. I'll check it out again then :x

User avatar
Megaman
Imp
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 17:18
Location: London

...

Post by Megaman » Mon Jun 11, 2007 08:24

Its a 512mb graphics card

User avatar
samuelmonaghan_aussie
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 6102
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 09:51
Location: Whyalla bru
Contact:

Post by samuelmonaghan_aussie » Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:44

thats good
512mb are good cards, run the game fine
Mr Smith wrote:Can we still say cunt even if Chill is still here?

Dan99
Demonic Monkey
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 19:29
Location: Newcastle, england

Post by Dan99 » Thu Jun 28, 2007 09:11

Radeon 9500 Pro 256MB DRR any good for Oblivion?

Tcklmypickle
Pinky Demon
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 04:49
Location: on the dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Post by Tcklmypickle » Sat Jun 30, 2007 23:52

windows vista home basic

processor: Intel core 2 CPU T7400 @ 2.16 GHZ
Memory (ram): 1022mb
system type: 32-bit operating system
ATI Mobilty Radeon x1800
first 10,000 razor copperhead usb mouse
Realtek High Defintion aduio (but i have crappy laptop built-in 2.1, but
i have ozma 6 headphones to blow it away)

my monitor is a 17' WUXGA LCD that goes up to 1900X1200 pixels

according to the list my computer blows the crap out of oblivion

but those are just words and i want your guys opionion: would my alienware beast play oblivion at full capacity and still have great performance?

EDIT: idk why it does this, but 1-3 year old games run REALLY crappy on my computer, yet the requirements checker thing on the first page says i blow away oblivion... im not a guru like wester's gibberish a couple posts ago but i think its my 1gb of RAM. correct?
by the way its the alienware M-5550
Last edited by Tcklmypickle on Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Julianos
Baron of Hell
Posts: 4870
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 23:47
Location: XBL: Bmurph125

Re: Will your PC run Oblivion? #2

Post by Julianos » Sun Jul 22, 2007 21:14

I'm an idiot, so tell me if my computer would work oblivion.

i have an nvidia 6100 graphics card, and 500 gb of space, and 3 gb of memory. I was on a website, and it said i needed 4.6 gb of hard disk space. Does not compute.
Image

Tcklmypickle
Pinky Demon
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 04:49
Location: on the dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Re: Will your PC run Oblivion? #2

Post by Tcklmypickle » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:54

Julianos125 wrote:I'm an idiot, so tell me if my computer would work oblivion.

i have an nvidia 6100 graphics card, and 500 gb of space, and 3 gb of memory. I was on a website, and it said i needed 4.6 gb of hard disk space. Does not compute.
um i believe it means 4.6gb of space. that 500gb is your hardrive where you store all your data and porn, so 4.6gb on your 500gb hardrive will takeabout .7% of your hardrive.

3gbof memoery is basically the fuel for your computer, the higher the number (all the way to an amazing 4!) the better your computer runs generally. your graphics card is what makes everything on your computer better looking.

basicaly when it pertains to computers, the higher the number the better it is for you, but computer are two years ahead of even the most modern games, as to have a large audience be able to play there games, so buying a pimped-out powerhouse now will last you about 4 years.

well the alienware desktop with 4gb of ram, 2 TB of space and dual 768gb nvidia graphics card wil last your longer than ur lifetime, but thats besides the point...

User avatar
Julianos
Baron of Hell
Posts: 4870
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 23:47
Location: XBL: Bmurph125

Re: Will your PC run Oblivion? #2

Post by Julianos » Mon Jul 23, 2007 16:04

so basically you're saying I'm good to go?
Image

Tcklmypickle
Pinky Demon
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 04:49
Location: on the dark side of the Moon
Contact:

Re: Will your PC run Oblivion? #2

Post by Tcklmypickle » Wed Jul 25, 2007 01:37

Julianos125 wrote:so basically you're saying I'm good to go?
all your other specs check out, but, i could be wrong, your graphics card isnt good, i dont know how big a 6100 is, but i have an ATI 256mb and it blows away oblivion, that is after i got 2gb of ram instead of one... THANK YOU DUO CORE PROCESSORS

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests