Now compressing forum pages

Their words echo still!
Locked
User avatar
Paul
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 8675
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 18:53
Location: Aldershot, UK, EU
Contact:

Now compressing forum pages

Post by Paul » Tue Sep 09, 2003 00:14

I've just started compressing the forum pages (ie the server compresses them, they get transfered over to the client and their browser uncompresses it).

Will put a bit more load on the server, but hopefully pages will load quicker and stuff due to less bandwidth being used.

Let me know if you notice any difference and what not.

Wester547
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 7358
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 23:47
Location: USA.

Post by Wester547 » Tue Sep 09, 2003 00:22

Hmmm I don't notice a difference YET. So is this supposed to assist webpage space or bandwith issues, Paul?
Last edited by Wester547 on Fri Jun 11, 2004 17:58, edited 2 times in total.

Wester547
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 7358
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 23:47
Location: USA.

Post by Wester547 » Tue Sep 09, 2003 00:23

Sorry for some odd reason I can't edit my last message BUT I DO NOTICE A DIFFERENCE: FORUMS NOW LOAD MUCH FASTER! THANKS A WHOLE LOT PAUL THIS WAS A GENIUS IDEA AND STILL IS!!! :D :D
Last edited by Wester547 on Fri Jun 11, 2004 17:59, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 8675
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 18:53
Location: Aldershot, UK, EU
Contact:

Post by Paul » Tue Sep 09, 2003 00:51

It doesn't save any 'webpage space' as that's never the probem. Storage is dirt cheap, the D3P uses 23MB and I suppose it's using may be 6MB on the database server. Hmmm there's 60GB free on the drive so no issue with 'space'.

The issue is always with bandwidth. For example the index page (which is small compared to other pages) of the forum was 24117 bytes long (not including graphics, just the actual code itself) now you only need to download 4189 bytes.

The server compresses the webpage on the fly, if it detects the client's browser can read (uncompress) gzipped data, if it can the server compresses the page and passes it down the pipe, the client browser then unzips and displays it.

So basically the server zips the page up everytime you ask for one, your machine downloads it, unzips it and displays it.

I will be using mod_gzip for all pages on the server once I can get the sod to start, everytime I add the mod to the Apache server it refuses to start! :roll: So at the moment it's just limited to the forum.

Wester547
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 7358
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 23:47
Location: USA.

Post by Wester547 » Tue Sep 09, 2003 01:14

Hey Paul I'm noticing some times I can't access any doom 3 portal page cause this compression thingy and some times I can, I am sent to the death intertnet screen of "this page cannot be displayed"...that's cause of the compression thingy right?
Last edited by Wester547 on Fri Jun 11, 2004 17:59, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Paul
Spider Mastermind
Posts: 8675
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2002 18:53
Location: Aldershot, UK, EU
Contact:

Post by Paul » Tue Sep 09, 2003 01:20

More likely because I'm trying to get mod_gzip to load with Apache. The server has to be restarted each time I change the config file. If it refuses to load, I have to go back, alter the config file and restart the server.

You're getting page cannot be displayed because the server wouldn't be running at that time.

Well some progress being made, I've got the DLL being executed with Apache now, however trying to configure it causes Apache to fall over. :roll:

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests